Honors Program Committee Annual Report

The members of the Honors Program Committee for the AY 2016-2017 are:

Chair: Rhyannon Bemis

Designated Senator: Stephen Ford

Rhyannon Bemis, PSYC, 15-18, FULTON
William Campbell, NURS, 15-18, HENSON *on sabbatical Spring 2017
*Jessica Clark, BIOL, Spring 2017 sabbatical replacement
Stephen Ford, LIBR, 14-17, LIBRARY
Ani Mathers, FINA, 14-17, PERDUE
Rachel Buchanan, SOWK, 14-17, SEIDEL

Fall 2016

During the Fall semester, the Honors College Committee edited the committee bylaws to include three major changes. First, the bylaws were changed to reflect the transition from an Honors Program to an Honors College with language consistent with this transition. Secondly, the bylaws were edited to more clearly reflect the tasks that the committee does, such as evaluating student grant, scholarship and award applications and working on honors curriculum. Finally, the membership section of the bylaws was edited to include a member of the to-be-formed Honors Advisory Board and to ensure student participation by allowing for either members of the Honors Student Association or their designees to be members of the committee. These changes were unanimously approved by the Honors College Committee and were approved by the Faculty Senate at the conclusion of the Fall semester. The committee also discussed and provided input for a new Honors Program in Business which was unanimously approved by the faculty of the Perdue School of Business at the end of the Fall semester. Finally, the committee began the process of making significant changes to the Honors College Policies and Procedures document both to reflect the transition to an Honors College and to ensure that the policies (such as admission requirements, graduation requirements, and transfer of credits) were consistent with other Honors Colleges across the country.

Spring 2017

During the Spring semester, the committee continued to review and edit the Honors College Policies and Procedures document, establishing a definition of Honors courses, criteria for faculty teaching Honors courses, procedures for course enrollment, a listing of Honors student privileges, and a listing of criteria for dismissal from the Honors College. The committee finished these revisions toward the end of the Spring semester and the Policies and Procedures documents was unanimously approved by the committee on April 19, 2017. The document was

then reviewed and approved by the Faculty Senate on May 9, 2017. Additionally, Dr. James Buss submitted the proposal for the Honors Program in Business to the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee and after addressing the committee's queries the proposal was approved. Finally, as in past semesters, the committee was pleased to read and evaluate research papers for the annual Whall Award. From eleven nominated papers the committee selected one winner of the Whall Award as well as three finalists. The Whall Award was given at the annual Honors Banquet on May 20, 2017. For the upcoming academic year (2017-2018) the committee plans to review and revise the strategic plan for the Honors College and to work on creating a rubric for evaluating proposed Honors Courses.