Draft Minutes of the SU Faculty Senate Meeting May 16, 2006 HH119

<u>Senators Present:</u> DeRidder, Groth, Hopson, Howard, Lawler, McKenzie, Morrison, Muller, Mullins, O'Loughlin, Parker, Pereboom, Ritenour, Robeck, Robinson, Shannon, Shipper.

Senators Absent: Diriker

- 1. Maarten Pereboom called the senate to order at 3:30pm.
- 2. The minutes from May 9th were approved.
- 3. Announcements

Senate President - To be an election judge as part of the "Professor's at the Polls" program, call 410-548-4830.

Pereboom reported that the Conflict of Interest/Commitment policies discussed last week will in fact be disentangled and re-created as separate documents. This was discussed and confirmed with the insight of Ann Donahue. The update will be sent to the Academic Freedom and Tenure Committee.

Provost Buchanan - Provided an update on dates for August events:

Monday, August, 21 - First Year Reader training

Nothing currently scheduled for Tuesday, August 22 (might be a good day for department retreats, etc.)

Wednesday, August 23 is Faculty Development Day

Thursday, August 24

- -Student move-in day
- -Meeting with chairs, deans, provosts in the morning
- -Faculty picnic 11:30-1pm on patio outside of Wicomico Room
- -Provost address from 1-3, followed by dean's meetings

Friday, August 25

- -First Year reader discussions 9-10
- -Convocation 10:30-11:30
- -Luncheon for faculty & students 11:30-1:30
- -Departments and faculty then meet with new students in classrooms/other rooms on campus so students can meet department chairs, advisors, etc. Undeclared majors can drop in any department meeting or meet with school advising coordinators.

The Provost also pointed out that the May 11^{th} edition of SU news is particularly rich and full of information regarding staff, faculty (including retiring faculty) & student success.

He revealed that the proposed FY07 budget has been forwarded to the

president. SU has to budget for COLA (lesser of 2% or \$1400) and merit (2.5% for those who are eligible). SU is also setting aside \$200,000 for faculty salary equity adjustments.

He thanked the Senate for our role in making our shared governance system work & appreciates our time and energy.

- 4. Committee Reports none
- 5. New Business
- a. <u>Learning Technology Committee</u> Tom Moriarty discussed three items on behalf of the committee.
- 1. Review of the purposes of the committee:

Learning With Technology Committee

- The purposes of the committee shall be to:
 - A. Review and make recommendations to the University administration concerning the use of technology in face-to-face and online teaching and learning, including but not limited to planning and policies;
 - B. Serve as a liaison between the Faculty and Information Technology Services regarding learning technology issues; and
 - C. Serve in an advisory capacity to the Director of the Teaching and Learning Network about issues regarding technology and learning.
- The Committee shall have seven voting members: seven members of the Faculty serving three-year terms: four elected from and by their respective schools, two elected at-large, one from the library faculty to be appointed by the dean of the library, two retiring annually. The Chief Information Officer or his/her designee, and the Director of the Teaching and Learning Resources or his/her designee shall be ex officio non-voting members. Should an elected faculty member not be the Designated Senator a non-voting Designated Senator shall also serve on the committee. The committee shall elect its chairperson annually.

The Senate asked the committee to review the "two retiring annually" part, as that is challenging with a 7-member committee.

- 2. The committee would like Senate approval to make 3 changes to their bylaws:
 - 1. The name of the committee, *Learning Technology Committee*, shall be renamed the *Learning With Technology Committee* to place appropriate emphasis on teaching and learning and not the technology itself.

- 2. The purpose of the committee shall also include reviewing and making recommendations for online teaching and learning. In September 2004, the provost created an ad hoc Online Learning Committee to develop a policy and guidelines for online learning at Salisbury University. While the work of the ad hoc committee has been completed, we foresee many continuing issues regarding the implementation of online learning at SU. The members of the Learning Technology Committee believe that this committee is the appropriate venue to assist in addressing online learning at SU.
- 3. As more and more information is available in electronic format, access for online and face to face students and faculty is an ongoing concern. The committee believes that a representative from the library on the Learning Technology Committee is warranted.

Shannon – Indicated that librarians should elect librarians (as they are faculty and should participate in elections similarly), rather than have the dean appoint a librarian to the committee.

The committee was instructed to make the changes we discussed to the bylaws to bring the revision to the next meeting in the fall for potential Senate approval (via a formal motion) to send the changes to the Membership and Elections committee.

3. The committee also recommends the process begin to hire a director of distance and online learning since more coordination and support is needed.

Robeck – The committee should consider how a couple of these duties might coordinate with the department chairs (like # 10 & 14) - don't want to work at cross purposes. Shannon - do we need a director or just additional support in Melissa Thomas' office, not necessarily an administrator with a secretary, etc.

Overall, support was evidenced for a need for a better assessment of what we're talking about for an administrative person, but we should hire another Melissa right now.

The committee was instructed to come back with a clearer sense of what kind of position we should ask for and to talk to the Provost's office for assistance.

b. Pereboom thanked the Senators whose terms have concluded:

Memo Diriker Mike O'Loughlin Rich McKenzie Maarten Pereboom Susan Muller

Pereboom welcomed the Senators whose terms just ended and whose new terms begin (they were re-elected):

Edward Robeck (Seidel)

Kathleen Shannon (at-large)

Pereboom welcomed new Senators:

Henson: David Rieck, Ellen Lawler, Michael Folkoff

Seidel: Ed Robeck Perdue: Kashi Khazeh Fulton: Elizabeth Curtin

At-large: Michael Scott, Kathleen Shannon

c. Officer elections were held for 2006 – 2007 year

Joseph Howard was thanked for his efforts as webmaster. David Reick was nominated as webmaster (all in favor).

Jody Morrison was thanked for her efforts as secretary. Ellen Lawler was nominated as secretary (all in favor).

Elizabeth Curtin was nominated as Vice-President (all in favor).

- d. Ed Robeck announced that he will take a one-year leave of absence from SU to work on a grant-funded curriculum development project for the American Geological Association and will not be able to participate as a Senator.
- e. Incoming Senate President, Darrell Mullins, thanked Maarten for an extraordinary year of service as Senate President.
- 6. Pereboom adjourned the meeting at 4:10.

Respectfully submitted by Jody Morrison, Secretary