Faculty Senate Transition Meeting May 16, 2003 3:00 pm in HS 109 Minutes

Present: E. Curtin, N. Hopson, V. Hutchinson, R. Long, D. Marshall, D. Mathews, R. McKenzie, S. Muller, D. Parker, D. Rieck, D. Rotondo, D. Whaley

Absent: J. DeRidder, J. McCallops, P. McDermott, M. O'Loughlin, K. Milner, M. Mitchell

Present 2003-04 Senators: D. Mullins, M. Pereboom, K. Shannon
Absent 2003-04 Senator: M. Diriker

Announcements - Rich McKenzie, Chair

Dr. McKenzie noted that we may need to have emergency meetings as the budget issue develops. He also drew senators= attention to the FAC recommendations that he had sent out previously.

Approval Of Minutes

May 13 approved unanimously with revisions concerning AImportance of Tenure Statement. \cong

Business:

Convening of the 2003/4 Senate - David Rieck, President of Faculty Senate 2002/4

Dr. Rieck placed the names of those nominated on the board, asked for further nominations from the floor, and held the election of 2003/4 Senate Officers Results:

- 1. Vice-President: Michael O=Loughlin
- 2. Secretary: Dave Parker
- 3. Webmaster: Denise Rotondo

Other Business:

Mr. Whaley made the motion that Athe Senate direct the president of the Faculty Senate to write a letter reminding Dr. Dudley-Eshbach that the list of recommendations from FAC was sent forward without consultation with the Faculty Senate.≅ Vote: 11 in favor and none opposed or abstaining. The motion passed.

Dr. McKenzie thanked everyone for their help during his years as president. Dr. Long thanked Dr. McKenzie, and the Senate gave him a round of applause.

Adjournment: 3:25
