Proposed motions regarding the status of Continuing Education Faculty in the English Language Institute

Brent Zaprowski

Prelude: There are a small number of faculty at Salisbury University who teach full time for the English Language Institute, but at the moment it is not clear how they fit within the campus governance structure. What follows is the information I gathered from a lengthy discussion with Brian Stiegler, director of the Center for International Education. These faculty members are part of the informal academic division of "Continuing Education" which at the moment only has one "program", the English Language Institute. These faculty are on full-time, non-tenure track contracts and are classified as senior lecturers. They have a chair who evaluates them every year and they are hired using a search committee. So by definition they are faculty of this campus as per Article I, Section 1 of the Senate by-laws.

The problem however is that they are not faculty in one of the four academic schools or in the library. My proposed solution is (relatively) simple. Continuing education faculty will be given the status of "atlarge" for the purposes of campus governance. Given there are only six people with this status, and they are not contractually required to participate in service, it does not seem appropriate at this time to create any new, separate category or dedicated committee seats for them.

Motion 1. Change the language in Article V, Section 10 to define Continuing Education faculty as At-large faculty:

Section 10. Determining Voting and Membership Eligibility:

The Vice President of the Senate shall maintain a complete, accurate, current, and public listing of all members of the Faculty, and the listing at the time of elections shall determine eligibility both to vote in the elections and to serve on the Senate. All questions regarding any individual's membership in the Faculty and/or membership in a particular School or the Library within the University shall be determined by the Membership and Elections Committee. Continuing Education faculty are members of the faculty at large but not members of any school or the library.

Continuing education faculty would be eligible to run for a seat on any committee that has at-large members "provided they meet the specific requirements for service for these organizations as stated elsewhere in these Bylaws" (Article IV, Section 1). However, there are several senate committees (e.g., UCC, Academic Policies, etc.) where it would seem inappropriate for this particular group of faculty to occupy an at-large seat. Therefore, my second motion would add the clause "excluding continuing education faculty" to those committees' by-laws. This is exactly the same language currently used to exclude librarians from certain senate committees.

Motion 2. Change the language in the following sections of Article VII in order to specify which Senate Committees continuing education faculty are not eligible to participate in.

Section 2. Undergraduate Curriculum Committee:

The committee shall have eight voting members: seven Faculty serving three-year terms, two retiring every two years, three retiring every third year, four elected from and by their respective schools, three elected at-large (excluding librarians and continuing education faculty).....

Section 3. Academic Policies Committee:

The committee shall have nine voting members: six faculty members serving three-year terms, with two retiring annually, four elected from and by their respective schools, two elected at-large (excluding continuing education faculty).....

Section 10. Long Range Academic Planning Committee:

The Committee shall consist of the Provost or his/her designee (ex officio and non-voting) and five representatives elected from the Faculty: one from each of the four Schools and one at-large (excluding continuing education faculty).....

Section 14. Admissions & Readmissions Committee:

The committee will have six voting members to include six faculty serving three-year terms, two retiring each year, four elected from and by their respective schools and two elected at large (excluding continuing education faculty).....

Section 16. University Academic Assessment Committee (UAAC):

The committee shall have seven voting members: four members elected from and by their respective schools, two elected at-large (excluding continuing education faculty).....