## Minutes of the SU Faculty Senate Meeting May 15, 2007 HH 119

Senators present –Curtin, DeRidder, Groth, Hammond, Hopson, Khazeh, Lawler, Morrison, Mullins, Parker, Rieck, Ritenour, Robinson, Scott, Shannon, Shipper

Senators absent – Egan, Talbert

Newly elected Senators present – Clarke, Diriker, Gilkey, Ludwick, O'Loughlin, Zaprowski

- 1. Pres. Mullins called the meeting to order at 3:32; a guorum was present.
- 2. Announcement from President Mullins The Office of Academic Affairs will be recruiting faculty volunteers for an ad hoc committee which will meet during the summer to work on curricular issues including; issues related to the Fulton curricular change, Gen Ed, and making the curricular change process more streamlined. The committee will eventually make recommendations to the senate. Mullins intends to volunteer and hopes the senate will be well represented on the committee. At least one rep from each school is needed, but the committee shouldn't be too large (about 10 maximum). Sen. Shannon reminded that the senate recently passed a motion to convene a sub-group of senate volunteers to draft bylaws amendments related to full faculty meetings and referendums.
- 3. No words from the Administration
- 4. New Business
  - a. <u>Mullins acknowledged and thanked the senators whose terms are expiring</u> John Egan, Jerome DeRitter, Randall Groth, Jody Morrison, David Parker and Bart Talbert.
  - b. <u>Mullins welcomed the newly elected senators</u> Craig Clarke, Memo Diriker, Theodore Gilkey, Kurt Ludwick, Michael O'Loughlin and Brent Zaprowski.
  - c. Election of Senate Officers for 2007-2008 –
    VP. Elizabeth Curtin automatically becomes President
    Michael O'Loughlin was nominated for Vice-president (all in favor)
    Ellen Lawler was nominated for another term as Secretary (all in favor)
    David Rieck was nominated for another term as Webmaster (all in favor)
  - d. Incoming Senate President, Elizabeth Curtin, thanked Darrell for an extraordinary year of service as Senate President.
- 5. Meeting adjoined at 3:44 PM.

Respectfully submitted by Ellen Lawler, Secretary