Minutes of the Salisbury University Faculty Senate

May 5, 2015 at Holloway Hall 119

Senators Present: Stephen Adams, Tom Anderson, Mark de Socio (Secretary), Jerome DeRidder, Stephen Ford (Webmaster), Lance Garmon, Stephen Habay, Ross Leasure, Darrell Mullins (VP), John Nieves, Brandye Nobiling, David Parker, David Rieck, Diallo Sessoms, Kathleen Shannon (President), Bart Talbert, Leslie Yarmo, Brent Zaprowski

Call to Order (Faculty Senate President): 3:30PM, quorum present

Reading of Minutes (Faculty Senate meeting of April 7, 2015)

— Minutes approved as distributed

Opening Remarks from the Faculty Senate President

Faculty Senate President's Award for Outstanding Service to the Faculty

- Our first recipients of this prestigious new award are Stephen Ford, Faculty Senate Webmaster, and Dr. Katherine Miller, Chair of the University Curriculum Committee
 - Congratulations!
 - Both have been particularly busy over the past year (and more) and have deftly navigated complex problems and issues in the course of their work

Faculty Memorial Scholarship Fund

- It may be difficult to raise enough funding to endow a scholarship in honor of a colleague or colleagues that have passed away
- Announcing the Faculty Memorial Scholarship as a way to honor multiple colleagues through a scholarship program
 - Once donations reached at least \$500 towards a particular individual, that person's name will be included in the Faculty Memorial Scholarship Fund's honoree list
 - The Faculty Memorial Scholarship Fund will be linked through the SU Alumni website

Old Business

Senate Ad Hoc Committee Report on the Inclusion of Finance in General Education Group III (see documents)

- Motion to accept Senate Ad Hoc Committee recommendations; seconded
- FINA Motion proposed: "The FINA area shall be added to list of areas in General Education IIIB, and courses from Finance should be given due consideration by the University Curriculum Committee when submitted for inclusion as Social Science under General Education IIIB"; seconded
 - Proposed Amendment to allow both FINA and ECON to be counted as General Education IIIB
 - Brief discussion
 - Amendment rejected
 - FINA Motion rejected: 1 in favor, 16 opposed
- Motion to accept Senate Ad Hoc Committee recommendations passed: 15 in favor, 0 opposed

New Business

Policy and Procedures prohibiting unlawful discrimination (see documents)

- Motion to endorse policy with caveat: that Faculty Senate be kept informed via the Senate Summer Advisory Committee of any changes since it is a fluid policy; seconded
 - Discussion
 - Curious language regarding the role of advisor
 - Even if advisor is an attorney, they cannot serve in the capacity of an attorney
 - In previous language, attorney was not allowed, but now an attorney can at least be an advisor
- Motion passes (voice vote)

Announcing New Senators for Academic Year 2015-16

- New 3-year At-Large Senators: Kurt Ludwick and Stephen Ford
- New 1-year At-Large Senator: Sean Cooper

Passing of the Gavel

— Dr. Darrel Mullins introduced as new Faculty Senate President for Academic Year 2015-16

Nominations for Faculty Senate Officers for Academic Year 2015-16:

— Vice President: Stephen Ford (Accepted nomination and Confirmed by the Senate)

- Webmaster: Kurt Ludwick (Accepted nomination and Confirmed by the Senate)
- Secretary: Mark de Socio (Accepted nomination and Confirmed by the Senate)

Adjourned 4:00PM