1		Minutes of the Salisbury University Faculty Senate
2		May 7, 2013
3		Holloway Hall, Rm. 119
4		, and the second se
5 6		Present: Stephen Adams, Thomas Anderson, J. Craig Clarke, Leigh Ann DePope, eWitt, Danny Ervin, Greg Ference, Stephen Ford, John Kalb, Kurt Ludwick, David
7	_	zabeth Ragan, Diallo Sessoms, Vera Street, Bart Talbert, Adam Wood
8		Absent: Lance Garmon, Theodore Gilkey, Asif Shakur
9		, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
10	I.	Senate President Clarke called the meeting to order at 3:34 p.m.; quorum present.
11	II.	Approved the minutes of April 23 with changes.
12	III.	Faculty Senate President remarks:
13		1. Advised senators to review the website to recommend changes to the senate by-
14		laws. A copy of the Senate by-laws was distributed. Reminder regarding making
15		the senate website searchable. Thanks to all outgoing and continuing senators.
16	IV.	Provost's remarks:
17		1. Encouraged the faculty to attend and offer input at the year's remaining Strategic
18		Planning Workshops. There will be dates set in the fall for additional
19		workshops.
20	V.	Old Business
21		1. Faculty Welfare Committee: Senator Talbert, the committee met with the fair
22		practices officer and the university attorney regarding the sexual harassment policy.
23		They will need a four hour block (during finals) uninterrupted, as they have been
24		working through issues. There have been no problems with the administration thus
25		far. Professor Shannon offered: the section regarding "supervising position must
26		take action" has some wording / legal problems "any employee" will replace
27		"supervising position", the committee is working through 19 points of language
28		issues. FWC is advocating implementing the changes prior to fall term for full
29		senate approval. The discrimination section is pending, will now include sexual
30		orientation and gender identity.
31		2. Senator Parker moved to approve the current work by the FWC on the Sexual
32		Harassment Policy, Seconded and Approved without dissent.
33		3. Senate President Clarke offered thanks to the departing Senators and Officers.
34 35		He made special thanks to Senator Ludwick for his tireless work on the Senate
36		website. Finally, he presented a new gavel to new Senate President Ragan. 4. Provost Allen presented outgoing Senate President Clarke his own gavel.
37	VI.	New Business
38	٧1.	1. New Senators Seated. Somiah Lattimore, Mark de Socio, Jerome DeRidder,
39		Brandye Nobling, Kathleen Shannon, Stephen Habay.
40		2. Officer Elections: Kathleen Shannon was nominated and elected Senate Vice
41		President. Mark de Socio was nominated and elected Recording Secretary of the
42		Senate. Stephen Ford was nominated and elected Webmaster of the Senate.
43		3. Senate meeting dates for the fall were distributed by Senate President Elect
44		Ragan, who offered to increase the senate's effort to communicate with the entire
45		faculty at large, to continue looking into the by-laws that govern the University
46		Consortium and the Graduate Council.

VII. Moved for Adjournment 3:55pm.
 Minutes submitted by Tom Anderson, outgoing Recording Secretary of the Senate.