Committee Membership

Committees of the Senate and Faculty Representatives to Other Organizations (Updated Aug. 24, 2004)

Membership and Elections Committee

Designated Senator Maarten Pereboom

Chair: Brent Zaprowski GEOG 03-06 HENSON Jill Caviglia-Harris ECON 03-06 PERDUE Suzanne Osman PSYC 02-05 FULTON Carolyn Bowden PHEC 04-07 SEIDEL Wendy Rountree ENGL 02-05 At-large Cynthia Cooper CMAT 04-07 At-large

Committee Report 2002

Membership & Election Procedures

University Curriculum Committee

Designated Senator Darrell Mullins

James Craig PSYC 04-07 FULTON Mark Frana BIOL 03-06 HENSON Debbie Easterling MGMT 03-06 PERDUE Nancy Michelson EDUC 02-05 SEIDEL Dorothea McDowell NURS 03-06 At-large Darrell Mullins CMAT 02-05 At-large Michael Folkoff GEOG 04-07 At-large

Academic Policies Committee

Designated Senator Charles McKenzie

Denise Rotondo MGMT 03-06 PERDUE Kurt Ludwick MATH 04-07 HENSON Tony Whall HONR 03-06 FULTON Brent Dennis SOWK 03-06 SEIDEL Grace Clement PHIL 01-03 At Large (Chair) Elizabeth Seldomridge NURS 04-07 At Large

Committee Report 2002

Honors Program Committee

Designated Senator: David Rieck

Kristen Walton HIST 04-06 (Chair) Jim Hatley PHIL 03-05 Connie Richards ENGL 03-05 Harel Barzilai MATH 04-06

Committee Report 2002

Library Committee

Designated Senator Joseph Howard

Dean Kotlowski HIST 04-07 FULTON Katherine Miller CHEM 04-07 HENSON Kathryn Kalmanson LIB 02-05 LIBRARY Richard Hoffman MGMT/MKTG 03-06 PERDUE Ernest Bond 04-05 SEIDEL

Faculty Development Committee

Designated Senator Jody Morrison

Richard Bowler HIST 02-05 (Chair) Barbara Wainwright MATH 03-06 Anita Brown CHEM 03-06 Kathleen Kalmanson LIB 03-06 Brian Steigler MDFL 02-05

Committee Report 2002

Committee on Promotions

Special Eligibility: Not eligible for promotion during service on this committee; department chairmen may not serve.

> Designated Senator Elicia Venso

James Hatley 04-07 FULTON Karen Papke-Shields INFO 03-06 PERDUE John Wolinski EDUC 02-05 SEIDEL Homer Austin MATH 04-07 HENSON Catherine Walsh NURS 02-05 At-large Liddell Madden SOWK 03-06 At-large Elichia Venso BIOL 04-07 At Large

Committee Report 2002

Faculty Welfare Committee

Designated Senator Kathleen Shannon

Brent Dennis SOWK 03-06 Ann Barse BIOL 02-05 Richard Bowler HIST 02-05 Diane Davis HLSC 03-06 (Chair) Elizabeth Seldomridge NURS 04-07 Leonard Robinson POSC 04-07

Committee Report 2002-03

Committee Report 2003-2004

Sabbatical Leave Procedures

Sabbatical Leave Form

Academic Freedom and Tenure Committee

Special Eligibility: Must be tenured.

Designated Senator Randall Groth Doug Marshall ACCT 03-06 (Chair) Susan Battisoni NURS 02-05 Michael Folkoff GEOG 04-07 Paul Scovell CMAT03-06 Liddell Madden SOWK 02-05

Note that no individual may serve on any two of the following four committees.

Faculty Mediation Committee**

Special Eligibility: Must be tenured.

Designated Senator: David Rieck

Philip Luft MATH 03-06 (Chair) Charisse Chappell PSYC 04-07 Asif Shakur PHYS 03-06 Paul Scovell CMAT 03-06 Batya Hyman SOWK 04-07

Faculty Hearing Committee**

Special Eligibility: Must be tenured Designated Senator Pat McDermott

Augustine DiGiovanna BIOL 02-05 Keith Conners EDUC 04-07 Mara Chen GEOG 04-07 Connie Richards ENGL 02-05 Edward Senkbeil CHEM 04-07

Faculty Retrenchment Committee**

To be elected at a later date. (Only chairs eligible and only from departments not already on the committee by virtue of chairing certain committees.)

Retrenchment Appeals Committee**

Special Eligibility: At least three members must be tenured

Designated Senator: TBA

Pamela Alreck MKTG 02-05 Kristen Walton 03-06 Kathleen Lanigan NURS 02-05 John Bing EDUC 04-07 Brent Skeeter GEOG 03-06

*No individual may serve on any two of the preceding four committees.

Learning Technology Committee

Designated Senator: TBA

Victoria Hutchinson PHEC 04-07 At-Large (Co-Chair) Tom Moriarty ENGL 03-06 At-large (Co-Chair) Regina Royer EDUC 02-05 SEIDEL Andrew Sharma CMAT 02-05 FULTON Asif Shakur PHYS 03-06 HENSON Open Position 04-07 PERDUE

Learning Technology Request Form

Guiding Principles for IT

International Program Committee

Designated Senator Debbie Mathews

Robert Hallworth (Chair) Brian Stiegler MDFL 03-05 FULTON Lucy Morrison ENGL 04-06 FULTON Kim Hunter BIOL 04-06 HENSON Mara Chen GEOG 03-05 HENSON Gerald DiBartolo MKTG 02-04 PERDUE Catherine Beise INFO 03-05 PERDUE Ernest Bond EDUC 04-06 SEIDEL Douglas Ball EDUC 03-05 SEIDEL

Long Range Academic Planning Committee

Designated Senator <mark>Memo Diriker</mark>

CHAIR David Buchanan PROVOST

Tony Whall, HONR 03-05 FULTON John Tyvoll CHEM 04-06 HENSON Gerald DiBartolo MKTG 03-05 PERDUE Joel Jenne EDUC 04-06 SEIDEL Ellen Lawler BIOL 04-06 At-large

Committee Report 2002

Council of University System Faculty

Michael Garner ACCT 03-06 Anjali Pandey ENGL 02-05 David Parker MATH 03-06 Harry Womack BIOL 02-05

Maryland Higher Education Commission Faculty Advisory Committee

Special Eligibility: SU alternates with FSU for this position.

Darrell Mullins CMAT 04-06

Forum Committees Moved to the Senate and their Designated Senators (#)

These committees are Ad Hoc Committees of the Senate pending bylaws changes.

#Admissions and Readmissions Committee

Designated Senator Natalie Hopson

Sam Geleta BIOL 03-06 John Bing EDUC 04-07 Gregory Cashman POSC 04-07 Melanie Perrault HIST 02-05 Jason McCartney PSYC 03-06 Chrys Egan CMAT 03-06

Committee Minutes 10/09

#Athletics Committee

Designated Senator Susan Muller

Brent Skeeter GEOG 03-05 Thomas Stitcher PHEC 03-05 Sidney Schneidert RESP 04-07 Bart Talbert HIST 04-07

Athletic Committee Bylaws

Faculty Committee on Assessment (ad hoc created spring 01)

Mr. Bryan Price, Chair Dr. Maarten Pereboom, FULTON Fred Kundell, HENSON Richard Hoffman, PERDUE Carol Wood SEIDEL

Graduate Council

Joaquin Vila ENGL 04-06 FULTON Paul Grecay BIOL 03-05 HENSON Joel Kincaid 03-05 PERDUE Liddell Madden 04-06 SEIDEL

Comments and questions about this page can be directed to the Senate Webmaster.