Faculty Recognition and Awards Committee

Bylaws

The purpose of this committee shall be to:

- A. Receive from faculty, students and administrators nominations for distinctions, including the Distinguished Faculty Award, presented to eligible SU faculty by non-student organizations, including USM, regional, national, and international committees, bodies, and organizations.
- B. Develop procedures to evaluate nominations for such distinctions.
- C. Review and submit recommendations to the Provost and President of faculty nominated for these distinctions.
- D. Receive nominations, review and make recommendations, following USM guidelines, to the Provost and President, of candidates for honorary degrees granted by Salisbury University.
- E. Explore and advertise additional means of recognition afforded by both on-campus and off-campus sources.

The committee shall have five voting members, all tenured professors, one elected to serve on an at-large basis and four elected by and representing each school of the university. Members shall serve three-year terms, two retiring in each of two years, and the one retiring every third year. In addition, faculty members serving on the committee shall not be eligible for any recognition under the committee's review for the duration of their service. Should an elected member not be the Designated Senator, a non-voting Designated Senator shall also serve on the committee. The committee shall elect its chairperson annually.

/eof