## Committees of the Senate and Faculty Representatives to Other Organizations

#### **Membership and Elections Committee**

Chair: Brent Zaprowski
Designated Senator
Elizabeth Curtin

Brent Zaprowski, GEOG, 06-09, HENSON Sean Reid, ECON, 06-09, PERDUE Susan Muller, HPEHP, 04-07, SEIDEL Cynthia Cooper, CMAT, 05-08, FULTON

Membership & Election Procedures

#### **University Curriculum Committee**

Chair: Susan Muller Designated Senator Donna Ritenour

J. Craig Clarke, PSYC, 04-07, FULTON
Gene Williams, BIOL, 06-09, HENSON
Pat McDermott, ACCT, 06-09, PERDUE
Donna Ritenour, HPEHP, 05-08, SEIDEL
Liddell Madden, SOWK, 06-09, At-large
Susan Muller, HPEHP (06-07 for Brian Stiegler, MDFL), 05-08, At-large
John LaManca, HPEHP, 04-07, At-large

<u>Curriculum Approval Guide</u> <u>UCC Curriculum Approval Status (2006/2007)</u>

#### **Academic Policies Committee**

Chair: Kurt Ludwick
Designated Senator
Elizabeth Curtin

Gerald DiBartolo, MGMT/MKTG, 06-09, PERDUE Kurt Ludwick, MATH, 04-07, HENSON Elizabeth Ragan, HIST, 05-08, FULTON Bayta Hyman, SOWK, 06-09, SEIDEL Elizabeth Curtin, ENGL, 05-08, At Large Elizabeth Seldomridge, NURS, 04-07, At Large

#### **Honors Program Committee**

Chair: Kristen Walton
Designated Senator
Frank Shipper

Joaquin Vila, ENGL, 05-07 Elizabeth Papish, CHEM, 05-07 Chrys Egan, CMAT, 06-08 Kristen Walton, HIST, 06-08

## **Library Committee**

Chair: Katherine Miller
Designated Senator
Randall Groth

Creston Long, HIST, 04-07, FULTON Katherine Miller, CHEM, 04-07, HENSON Stephanie Fridie, LIB, 05-08, LIBRARY Sean Reid, ECON, 06-09, PERDUE Diana Wagner, 05-08, SEIDEL

#### **Faculty Development Committee**

Chair: Anita Brown
Designated Senator
Jody Morrison

Grace Clement, PHIL, 05-08 T. Ross Leasure, ENGL, 05-08 Sophie Wang, MATH, 06-09 Anita Brown, CHEM, 06-09 D. Andy Reese, LIB, 06-09

**Travel Grants Site** 

#### **Committee on Promotions**

Special Eligibility: Not eligible for promotion during service on this committee; department chairmen may not serve.

Chair: TBA
Designated Senator
Bart Talbert

James Hatley, 04-07, FULTON
Pat McDermott, ACCT, 06-09, PERDUE
Laurie Andes, EDUC (fall 06 for Starlin Weaver, EDUC), 05-08, SEIDEL
Paul Grecay, BIOL (fall 06 for Homer Austin, MATH), 04-07, HENSON
Elichia Venso, ENVH, 05-08, At-large
Tom Moriarty, ENGL, 06-09, At-large
Asif Shakur, PHYS, 04-07, At Large

## **Faculty Welfare Committee**

Chair: Elizabeth Emmert
Designated Senator
Kashi Khazeh

Leonard Robinson, POSC, At-large 04-07 Elizabeth Seldomridge, NURS, Henson, 04-07 Grace Clement, PHIL, Fulton, 05-08 Elizabeth Emmert, BIOL, At-large, 05-08 Kashi Khazeh, ECON, Perdue, 06-09 Nancy Michelson, EDUC, Seidel, 06-09

**Committee Report 2003-2004** 

**Sabbatical Leave Procedures** 

**Sabbatical Leave Form** 

#### **Academic Freedom and Tenure Committee**

Special Eligibility: Must be tenured.

Chair: Liddell Madden
Designated Senator
Kathleen Shannon

Charles Cipolla, SOCI, 06-09 Susan Battisoni, NURS, 05-08 Paul Scovell, CMAT, 06-09 Liddell Madden, SOWK, 05-08 Asif Shakur, PHYS, 04-07

Note that no individual may serve on any two of the following four committees.

## **Faculty Mediation Committee\*\***

Special Eligibility: Must be tenured.

Chair: Chrys Egan
Designated Senator
David Rieck

Batya Hyman, SOWK, 04-07 Charisse Chappell, PSYC, 04-07 Chrys Egan, CMAT, 06-09 Patricia Richards, EDUC, 06-09 David Rieck, CHEM, 06-09

#### **Faculty Hearing Committee\*\***

Special Eligibility: Must be tenured

Chair: Ed Senkbeil
Designated Senator
Jerome DeRidder

Keith Conners, EDUC, 04-07 Mara Chen, GEOG, 04-07 Edward Senkbeil, CHEM, 04-07 Mohammad Moazzam, MATH, 05-08 Alfred Witkofsky, PSYC, 05-08

#### **Faculty Retrenchment Committee\*\***

To be elected at a later date. (Only chairs eligible and only from departments not already on the committee by virtue of chairing certain committees.)

## **Retrenchment Appeals Committee\*\***

Special Eligibility: At least three members must be tenured

Chair: Eugene Williams
Designated Senator
David Parker

John Kalb, ENGL, 05-08 Cecilia Acocella, PSYC, 06-09 Robert Long, SOWK, 05-08 John Bing, EDUC, 04-07 Eugene Williams, BIOL, 06-09 \*No individual may serve on any two of the preceding four committees.

#### **Learning Technology Committee**

Chair: Catherine Beise
Designated Senator
Michael Scott

Victoria Hutchinson, PHEC, 04-07, At-Large Stephen Ford, LIB, 06-09, At-large Regina Royer, EDUC, 05-08, SEIDEL Marta Losonczy, PSYC, 05-08, FULTON Sam Geleta, BIOL, 06-09, HENSON Catherine Beise, INFO, 04-07, PERDUE

**Learning Technology Request Form** 

**Guiding Principles for IT** 

## **International Program Committee**

Designated Senator Leonard Robinson

Marta Losonczy, PSYC, 05-07, FULTON Joerg Tuske, PHIL, 06-09, FULTON Kim Hunter, BIOL, 06-08, HENSON Brent Zaprowski, GEOG, 05-07, HENSON Hong Yao, ECON, 06-08, PERDUE Louis Detwiller, MDFL, 05-07, PERDUE Ernest Bond, EDUC, 05-07, SEIDEL Laura Mancuso, EDUC, 06-08, SEIDEL

**Long Range Academic Planning Committee** 

**Chair: Joerg Tuske** 

#### Designated Senator Ellen Lawler

Joerg Tuske, PHIL, 05-07, FULTON
John Tyvoll, CHEM, 06-08, HENSON
Gerald DiBartolo, MKTG, 05-07, PERDUE
Susan Muller, HPEHP, 06-08, SEIDEL
George Whitehead, PSYC (fall 06 for Michael Lewis, HIST), 06-08, Atlarge

#### **Faculty Awards & Recognition Committee**

Designated Senator Dorsey Hammond

Iven White, MUSC, 05-08, FULTON
Judith Stribling, BIOL, 06-09, HENSON
Memo Diriker, MGMT/MKTG, 05-07, PERDUE
Nomsa Geleta, EDUC, 05-07, SEIDEL
Miguel Mitchell, CHEM, 06-09, At-large

#### **Admissions and Readmissions Committee**

Chair: Jason McCartney
Designated Senator
Natalie Hopson

John Bing, EDUC, 04-07 Gregory Cashman, POSC, 04-07 Timothy Dunn, SOCI, 05-08 Jason McCartney, PSYC, 05-08 Mary DiBartolo, NURS, 06-09 Elizabeth Ragan, HIST, 06-09

Other Committees Reporting to the Senate.

## **Council of University System Faculty**

Michael Garner, ACCT, 04-07

Paul Flexner, ART, 05-08

Roberta Adams, POSC, 05-08

Memo (Mehmet) Diriker, MGMT, 06-09

# Maryland Higher Education Commission Faculty Advisory Committee

Special Eligibility: SU alternates with FSU for this position.

**Melissa Mohammad EDUC 04-06** 

#### **Athletics Committee**

Designated Senator John Egan

Theodore Gilkey, EDUC, 05-07 Dennis Leoutsakas, CMAT, 05-07 Joel Jenne, EDUC, 06-08 Thomas Stitcher, HPEHP, 06-08

**Athletic Committee Bylaws** 

**Faculty Committee on Assessment** 

Joaquin Vila - Chair Judith Pike, FULTON Fred Kundell, HENSON Vacant, PERDUE Carol Wood, SEIDEL

#### **Graduate Council**

Joaquin Vila, ENGL, 06-08, FULTON Christopher Briand, BIOL, 05-07, HENSON Kashi Khazeh, ECON, 05-07 PERDUE Bob Martin, 06-08 SEIDEL

Comments and questions about this page can be directed to the  $\underline{\text{Senate Webmaster}}.$